Ilya Malyuev & Michelle Richer - The Road (incl. Steve Brian remix) [SILKSF025]


Feb 23, 2007
Reaction score
Samples & Purchase:

Russian producer Ilya Malyuev is certainly not a fresh face in EDM. In the past he has graced us with tracks and remixes on labels such as Morphosis, Lyon Echo, and Enhanced, ranging from progressive house to chillout. For his first EP on Silk Sofa, entitled "The Road", he has teamed up with American vocalist Michelle Richer. She has had successful releases on Alter Ego and Infrasonic, while receiving great support by the likes of ATB and Armin van Buuren. Starting off this release is the original mix of "The Road". Extremely smooth pad layers as well as Michelle's mesmerizing vocals are the first things we hear. The chilled beat and the comforting sounds surrounding it unite beautifully. In the last third of the track, a gorgeous flute melody accompanied by Michelle's vocals create a stunning atmosphere, just like Ulrich Schnauss would've wanted it.

Well-known trance artist Steve Brian (euphonic) from Germany contributes with his first chillout remix ever released. A lovely guitar melody kicks off the track, and soothing pads and re-arranged vocals are well supported by a calm breakbeat. Throughout the song, this beat continues to maintain the groove together with the guitar line, and various sound effects are used too.

"Universe" is yet another example of Ilya's masterful downtempo production work. This song slowly builds with a large array of excellent pads, synth stabs, and percussion elements, and together these elements form an outstanding soundscape, comparable to Mr. Schnauss himself.

Cat#: SILKSF025
Release date: February 4th, 2011
Genre: downtempo, chillout
Format: digital
Stores: Beatport exclusively

Tracklist & YouTube Previews:
01 Ilya Malyuev & Michelle Richer - The Road (Original Mix)
02 Ilya Malyuev & Michelle Richer - The Road (Steve Brian Remix)
03 Ilya Malyuev - Universe (Original Mix)

Jaytech, James Grant, Maor Levi, Menno de Jong, Ricky Inch, Dinka, Myon & Shane 54, Kenneth Thomas, Ruben de Ronde, Solarstone, Stefan Anion, Embliss, Flash Brothers, Dash Berlin, Deepsense, Adam Byrd, Gai Barone, Mango, Duane Barry, and many more...

For More Information: >>> Facebook page >>> YouTube channel
Sorry, not my style.